Thursday, October 17, 2013

Five Ancestors- Jeff Stone

The Five Ancestors is a Young Reader series written by Jeff Stone about five, young Chinese warrior monks who are the only survivors of the destruction and raid of their home, Cangzhen Temple. Each of the warriors specializes in an animal kung fu and possesses a Cantonese animal name: Fu (Tiger), Malao (Monkey), Seh (Snake), Hok (Crane), and Long (Dragon). The warriors must seek their past and fight their former brother Ying (Eagle) and others that bring harm. Each monk will begin to uncover their own past and learn surprising facts about themselves. Betrayal, trust, friendship, and skills along the way between the monks' families, friends, and among themselves. The seven books in the series are: Tiger, Monkey, Snake, Crane, Eagle, Mouse and Dragon.